About Us
Contact Details
Patient Info
Epilepsy Info

Prof Ingrid Scheffer



Address: Epilepsy Research Centre
Level 2, Melbourne Brain Centre
245 Burgundy Street
Austin Health
Heidelberg 3084
Telephone: +613 9035 7344
Fax: +613 9496 2291
Email: scheffer@unimelb.edu.au



Academic Appointments:

  Chair of Paediatric Neurology Research, The University of Melbourne
  Professor, Departments of Medicine and Paediatrics, The University of Melbourne
  Senior Principal Research Fellow, Florey Neuroscience Institutes
  NHMRC Practitioner Fellow


Clinical Appointments:

  Director of Paediatrics, Austin Health, Heidelberg, Victoria
  Director, Children's Epilepsy Program, Austin Health, Heidelberg, Victoria
  Paediatric Neurologist and Epileptologist
  Neurosciences, Monash Medical Centre, Clayton, Victoria
  Department of Neurology, Royal Children's Hospital, Parkville, Victoria
  Honorary Fellow of Genetic Health Services Victoria
  Honorary Research Fellow, Murdoch Childrens Research Institute


Academic Qualifications:

MB BS Monash University, 1983
FRACP Royal Australasian College of Physicians, 1992
PhD University of Melbourne, 1998


Postgraduate Fellowships and Awards

2012 Asia-Pacific L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Laureate
One of five laureates recognised for making great advances in scientific research. Each year, the For Women in Science Programme highlights scientific excellence and encourages promising talent.
2009 RACP Eric Susman Prize This prize is awarded annually to a fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians for the most outstanding contribution to the knowledge of any branch of internal medicine.
2007 American Epilepsy Society Research Recognition Award for Clinical Research This award recognises an outstanding contribution to clinical research in epilepsy at an international level.

2011-15;   2001-05

NHMRC Practitioner Fellowship
2002-15 NHMRC Program Grant Chief Investigator
2011 Jacobsen Lecturer Royal Victoria Infirmary, Newcastle, UK
2011 Tibbles Lecturer Annual 46th Congress of the Canadian Neurological Sciences Federation
2009 Professor R Gulati Oration Postgraduate Institute of Medical Education and Research, Chandigarh, India October 30 2009.
2009 MacKeith Lecturer British Paediatric Neurology Association, Birmingham, UK, January 29-30, 2009.
2008 Henry Dunn Lecture Vancouver General Hospital, Vancouver, Canada, December 2008.
2003 National Association of Research Fellows of NHMRC Post-Doctoral Investigator Award This award recognises outstanding independent research achievement during the first five years after receiving a research doctorate.
1999 Chancellor's Prize, the University of Melbourne
  Harbison-Higinbotham Research Scholarship, The University of Melbourne The Chancellor's Prize and the Harbison-Higinbotham Research Scholarship are awarded by the Chancellor of The University of Melbourne for excellence in the PhD thesis. This thesis was recognised as the most outstanding PhD in the medical sciences at the university in 1998.
1998 Commendation for Premier's Award for Medical Research This award is one of four awarded by the Premier of Victoria in recognition of an outstanding contribution to medical research during a PhD thesis.
1993 American Epilepsy Society Junior Investigator Award, Miami, USA
1992-1994 NHMRC Medical Postgraduate Scholar



Details of publications can be found on Prof Ingrid Scheffer's University of Melbourne Profile.


Created: 15 Sept 2003
Last modified: 1 Feb 2012
Authorised by: Prof Sam Berkovic
Legal Notice  
Maintained by: Susannah Bellows
Email: epilepsy-austin@unimelb.edu.au
University of Melbourne
Austin Health
About Us
Brain Research Institute